The members of the University of Montreal Arts & Medias Annual Symposium’s administration committee are pleased to present this 9th edition, entitled “About Boundaries: Between Passages, Limits and Exchanges.” Organized by various students of Art History, Film Studies and Video Game Studies, this event is intended as a place of open and inclusive exchanges and discussions for anyone interested, directly or indirectly, in the arts and the media.

At a time when movements of populations are controlled and subject to strict conditions, and when isolation imposed by the ongoing pandemic crisis finds its flipside in the proliferation of telecommunication tools dedicated to maintaining social relations, this conference intends to explore the theme of boundaries in its most varied aspects.

According to the standard definition, a boundary may delimit some space or separate two states; it constitutes an ideological and legal obstacle while generating power relationships. Therefore, this notion designates a set of realities which, far from being natural, are constructed and organized by societies. As such, boundaries encompass a large part of human activities, invest territorial and social organization, stimulate our collective imagination, and offer fertile ground for epistemological reflection. Apprehending the idea of boundaries, whether from an ontological, cultural, social, technological, or disciplinary perspective, leads us to rethink the identity and limits of a discipline or an artform, as well as the modalities of the circulation of knowledge, artworks, and practices. Hence through multiple artistic mediums and fields of study, and without historical or geographical restrictions, we aim to interrogate the idea of boundary as a sort of dynamic interface for encounters and oppositions, as much as a junction or transition point towards a plurality of experiences. We shall further examine theories and practices which relate to, question, and even sometimes blur the notion of boundary.

Considering the various avenues of reflection opened up by this notion, contributions may fall within one or more of the following axes, without being limited by them:

❖     Overcoming boundaries (methodological and disciplinary; research-creation projects; multi-/inter-/trans-/in-disciplinarity; curious experimentation; power relationships; transgression with or without political engagement; reality/virtuality)

❖     Imagining boundaries (symbolic or cultural materiality; linguistics of boundaries; limits or modalities of separation; territories; private/public)

❖     Interacting beyond boundaries (unusual collaborations and exchanges between research disciplines, between practitioners from distant domains, between diverse technologies; access to artworks; public engagement; collective or participative projects)

❖     Circulating through boundaries (flow or movements; transformations; mobility; instability; in-between or intermediary spaces).

Modalities for submissions and selection of contributions

We invite undergraduate and graduate students as well as professors, lecturers, researchers, and museum, cinema and video game professionals, of any disciplinary horizon, to submit a communication proposal (about 300 words) in French or English before July 18, 2021.

Papers (300 words, excluding bibliography) should be submitted by email to the following address: artsmedias.udem@gmail.com. (You may also ask any questions about the symposium using the same address.)

Click here for the form.

You may also ask any questions about the symposium using the same address.

Please note that the event will likely take place online in order to comply with University of Montreal sanitary protocols regarding COVID-19 (English - Info COVID-19 - Université de Montréal). We will keep you updated on this matter.


Attached files

Les membres de l’organisation du colloque Arts et Médias de l’Université de Montréal sont heureux·ses de vous présenter cette 9ème édition, intitulée Autour des frontières : entre passages, limites et échanges. Organisé par divers·es étudiants·es en histoire de l’art, en études cinématographiques et en études du jeu vidéo, ce colloque est un lieu ouvert et inclusif, d’échanges et de discussions, pour celles et ceux qui s’intéressent, de près ou de loin, aux arts et aux médias.

À l’heure où les déplacements des populations sont contrôlés et soumis à des conditions strictes, à un moment où l’isolement imposé par la crise pandémique actuelle a son revers dans la prolifération des outils de télécommunications, investis pour maintenir les liens entre chacun·e, ce colloque compte explorer le thème de la frontière dans ses aspects les plus variés.

Selon la définition courante, la frontière permet de délimiter un espace ou de séparer deux États ; elle constitue un obstacle idéologique et juridique tout en générant des rapports de force. Dès lors, cette notion désigne un ensemble de réalités qui, bien loin d’être naturelles, sont créées et organisées par les sociétés. Comme telle, la frontière englobe une grande partie des activités humaines, elle investit l’organisation territoriale et sociale, stimule l’imaginaire collectif et offre un terreau fertile à la réflexion épistémologique. Appréhender les frontières, aussi bien ontologiques que culturelles, sociales, technologiques ou disciplinaires, amène à repenser l’identité et les limites d’une discipline ou d’un art, au même titre que les modalités de circulation des savoirs, des œuvres et des pratiques. À travers les médiums artistiques et les champs d’études les plus variés, sans restrictions historiques ou géographiques, il s’agira donc d’interroger la frontière autant comme une interface dynamique de rencontre et d’opposition que comme un point de jonction et de passage menant à une pluralité d’expériences. Nous examinerons également les théories et les pratiques qui traversent la notion de frontière, la questionnent et (parfois) la brouillent.

Considérant les nombreuses pistes de réflexion qu’offre la notion de frontière, les communications proposées pourront s’inscrire dans l’un ou plusieurs des axes suivants, sans y être pour autant circonscrites :

❖     Dépasser les frontières : méthodologiques et disciplinaires ; projets en recherche-création ; multi-/inter-/trans-/in-disciplinarité ; expérimentation curieuse ; rapports de force ; transgression avec ou sans engagement politique ; réalité/virtualité.

❖     Imaginer les frontières : matérialité symbolique ou culturelle ; linguistique des frontières ; limites ou modalités de séparation ; territoires ; privé/public.

❖     Interagir au-delà des frontières : collaborations et échanges inusités entre disciplines de recherche, entre praticien·ne·s provenant de domaines éloignés, entre différentes technologies ; accessibilité des œuvres ; engagement des publics ; projets collectifs ou participatifs.

❖     Circuler à travers les frontières : flux ou mouvements ; transformations ; mobilité ; instabilité ; entre-deux ou espaces intermédiaires.

Modalités de soumission et de sélection des propositions 

Nous invitons les étudiants·es de premier cycle et des cycles supérieurs et post-doctoraux ainsi que les professeurs·es, les chargés·es de cours, les chercheurs·euses de même que les professionnels·les de musées, du cinéma et du jeu vidéo, de tous les horizons disciplinaires, à soumettre une proposition de communication (environ 300 mots) en français ou en anglais avant le 18 juillet 2021

Les propositions (300 mots, excluant la bibliographie) sont à soumettre par courriel à l’adresse suivante : artsmedias.udem@gmail.com. Vous devez également remplir le formulaire de participation en cliquant ici

Pour toute question à propos du colloque, vous pouvez nous contacter à la même adresse.

Veuillez noter que le colloque aura probablement lieu en ligne, afin de respecter les politiques sanitaires de l’Université de Montréal en lien avec le coronavirus (Info COVID-19). Nous vous en tiendrons informé·e·s des derniers développements.


Fichiers attachés