Panelists

Katia Andrea Morales Gaitan

Katia Andrea Morales Gaitan is a PhD student in film studies at the University of Montreal. She is also an assistant coordinator of the Archaeology and Genealogy Research Program of montage/editing (PRAGM/e) for the CinéMedias Laboratory. She did a master in Cinema Documentary at the National Autonomous University of Mexico, an institution that awarded her with the Alfonso Caso Medal. She has also been the coordinator of the book The State of Cinema Audiences Mexico City, commissioned by Procine DF. Katia, who gave courses in institutions such as UNAM, the Cineteca Nacional, the Universidad Iberoamericana and UAEMex. She also helped found the VoD FilminLatino, of the Mexican Institute of Cinematography, as a content coordinator (IMCINE).

Cynthia Montier and Ophelia Naessens

Cynthia Montier and Ophelia Naessens are a duo of artists-researchers. Their work explores the notion of esoterico-geography, the apprehension of geography and urban or rural geology as two-dimensional spaces: both physical and esoteric, revealing a profound meaning ; symbolic representation of a spiritual, mystical or emotional experience. They imagine and experiment with participatory forms navigating between art, activism and magic. Together, they are interested in the mechanisms of mediation and transmission of knowledge and practices - ritual pedagogies - as well as the place of spirituality in artistic, vernacular and militant practices.

Aurelie Bezacier

After studying print and web design in France and South Africa, she started her Bachelor of Art at the University of Montreal in 2018. Experiments professionals as graphic designers have drawn her attention to the responsibilities producers of images. Her travels to Cape Town have strengthened her interest in visual cultures of southern Africa. During her bachelor's degree, she explored theories questioning issues of power, otherness, inclusion and inter-species relations. In 2019, she had the pleasure of presenting her work at Concordia University Undergraduate Art History Conference.

Clara Bich

After studying theatre, in art history and cinema, Clara left France in 2015 to pursue a master's degree in cinema and television series at the University of Montreal. In 2018, after her graduation, she became a journalist for the atuvu.ca platform. In 2019, she introduces herself in press relations by working for Mingotwo Communications. Then, in 2020, she joined the Théâtre Aux Écuries, becoming in charge of communications. She continues to work in parallel for Marta Boni's Labo Télé and collaborates with the radio station CISM.893 for movie-television chronicles.

Jesse Aidyn

Jesse Aidyn is a master's student in video game studies at the University of Montreal. Holder of a bachelor'sdegree in computer science and a D.E.S.S. in game design, he addresses a significant part of his research through research-creation. These are particularly concentrated around the games experimental video and non-traditional videogame design approaches. His publications include the interactive Liberti experience (2019) as well as the musical album Hoverboy (2018), which remains central to his creative master's project : an interactive musical album of the same name.

Annabelle Fouquet

Initially trained in photography and anthropology, Annabelle Fouquet currently performs a customized master's degree in arts and anthropology at the University of Laval. Anchored in the field of visual, sensory and imaginative anthropology, she works on the anthropological works that closely articulate sensory and reflexive experiences. Through her research and creative projects, she is interested in the dynamics of (post)colonial relationships as well as relations to the territory.

Maxime Boutin

Maxime Boutin is a French visual artist living and working in Montreal. A PhD student in arts studies and practices at UQÀM, he is a member of Hexagram, an international network dedicated to research and creation in mediaarts, technology and digital culture. His research questions the relationship between the visual arts and skateboarding, in an experiential approach to transpose the sensoriality of this urban practice in a multimedia work, through the use of action cameras. His project obtained the creation grant from Hexagram network in 2019, as well as a FRQSC research grant in 2020.

Rosane Lebreton

Rosane Lebreton is an architect and PhD student in architecture. She focused her research on videogame image as part of a post-master diplomas specific to schools of architecture (DPEA)  in research at ENSAPLV, before continuing these reflections in a thesis in architecture in Lille, in the LACTH laboratory of ENSAP-Lille, and Liège, at the Liège Game Lab, linked to the University of Liège. This thesis aims to reflect on the links between architecture and video games through the question of architectural experience and its transformations through the videogame medium.

Elsa Fortant

This research is being conducted by Michel Duchesneau, a tenured professor at the Faculty of Music University of Montreal and by  Irina Kirchberg, sociomusicologist, visiting professor at UdeM and co-leader of the DESS in music mediation. They are accompanied by Héloïse Rouleau, candidate for the doctorate in musicology, Pierre-Luc Moreau and Elsa Fortant, candidates for the master's degree in musicology ; all three of whom participated in the creation of a well-reasoned catalogue of the devices digital music mediation started in 2018. Emilie Lesage, first-time student cycle in musicology, completes the team.

Fanny B. Charbonneau

Fanny is a candidate for a master's degree in literature at UQAM University and artistic assistant to a developmentorganization of contemporary dramaturgy : Jamais Lu. Her practice navigates between the theatrical and literary disciplines. Her fields of research and creation revolve around hybridity between humans and machines. In the context of interdisciplinary performances, she likes to have the logico-Cartesian character of the surrounding technologies in dialogue with the chaos of the poetic world and language.

Matilde Legault

Matilde Legault completed a master's degree in musicology in the spring of 2020 at the University of Montreal under the direction of Marie-Hélène Benoit-Otis. Her research interests focus on the reappropriation of music in the context of propaganda. His mémoire, “L’instrumentalisation des opéras de Giacomo Puccini par le régime fasciste italien (1922-1943) : le cas de Turandot”, deals with the manipulation of Puccini's figure and the instrumentalization of his operas in Mussolini's fascist propaganda. She is now pursuing her doctoral studies in musicology, which focus on the reappropriation of music under the Estado Novo d'Antonio de Oliveira Salazar in Portugal. 

Estelle Grandbois-Bernard

Estelle Grandbois-Bernard is a doctoral student in sociology at UQAM. His thesis focuses on the social, memory and spatial issues of actual ruins photography. She also is a student member and scientific coordinator of the Cultures - Arts - Societies (CELAT) research at UQAM.

Caroline Hatfield

Caroline Hatfield’s creative practice utilizes sculpture, installation, photography, and writing to explore themes of landscape and science fiction. After completing a Sculpture BFA at The University of Tennessee, she earned an MFA in Interdisciplinary Studio Art from Towson University. Hatfield has been included in numerous publications and exhibited artwork nationally. Hatfield is a recipient of the Trawick Contemporary Art Prize as well as a South Arts grant. She lives in East Tennessee, where she works professionally as a woodworker and educator.

Reilly Shwab

Reilly Shwab is an art historian and curator with specializations in the visual culture of early modern Europe, especially the Low Countries, and prints. Reilly earned his PhD from the University of Kansas with a dissertation on the night in Dutch art and different ways in which contemporary understandings of the nighttime informed Netherlandish artistic practice. He then served as Visiting Assistant Professor of Art History and Criticism at the University of Montana. Reilly’s other published research investigates the relationships between Dutch art and American identities around the turn of the twentieth century, and between visual culture and science.

Alexandre Zaezjev

Alexandre Zaezjev a PhD Candidate at the University of Geneva, Switzerland. His doctoral thesis focuses on digital media in the postmodern cultural condition. More specifically, his research considers the debate between modernism and postmodernism by examining the arrival of Web 2.0 and the decentralizing effect that it had on communicative and artistic strategies. Combining academic research with creative practice, Alexandre is also an independent multimedia artist.

Rachel Lobo

Rachel Lobo is a PhD Candidate with the Faculty of Environmental and Urban Change at York University, supported by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. Her research explores the potential of photographic archives in sustaining histories of political struggle and fostering the exchange of intergenerational knowledge. Rachel received her MA in Photographic Preservation and Collections Management from Ryerson University, and has held archival internships at the Royal Ontario Museum and the Ryerson Image Centre. She has published her work in Archivaria: The Journal for the Association of Canadian Archivists, and The International Journal of Canadian Studies

Julian Scordato

Julian Scordato is a composer of experimental music and artist who works mainly with digital sound and graphics. He studied composition and electronic music at the Conservatory of Venice and sound art at the University of Barcelona. Research assistant in communication design at the SaMPL Lab – Conservatory of Padua, Scordato has written articles and presented results related to interactive systems for music performance and graphic notation in conferences and master classes. He has worked as a professor of electronic music in several Italian institutions. His award-winning electroacoustic and audiovisual works have been performed and exhibited in international festivals and prestigious institutions.

Davis Lexington

Davis Lexington recently completed her MPhil at the VU University, Amsterdam, where her work was supported by a Fulbright fellowship. Currently based in Athens, Greece, she is also a practicing curator and has held positions at the Finnish Museum of Photography at Helsinki, the Stedelijk Museum at Amsterdam, and the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. She regularly presents work at conferences in North America and Europe, and her writing has appeared in numerous publications, including Flash Art and Metropolis M.

Iraboty Kazi

Iraboty Kazi is a Bangladeshi-Canadian PhD candidate at the University of Western Ontario. She is studying Art History and her research explores how the spaces presented in Italian Early Modern pastoral paintings are reconfigured and mobilized in constructions of nature in queer cinema. Her research interests include: Dante, post-colonial theory, queer literature and film, representations of hijras, Early Modern art and literature, and fictional spaces.

Jasmin Kathöfer

Jasmin Kathöfer (M.A.), since 2020 is an Assistant to the Director of the Institute and Coordination and of the Institute of Media Studies at the Braunschweig University of Art. 2016 to 2019, he was a phd-student in the graduate programme ‘The photographic Dispositive’ at the Braunschweig University of Art. 2016 to 2018, he was a research fellow in the “Project Society after Money“ at the University of Bonn. He has a degree in media science at the University of Siegen. He also has made recent publications in English together with the project group 'Society after Money' and the book with the same title. He did dialog on Bloomsbury publishing, "When loud Weather buffeted Naoshima”, “A Sensory Walk", in Walking and Academic Quarter Vol. 18/2019.

Angus Tarnawsky

Angus Tarnawsky is an Australian artist/musician and researcher in the field of sound studies. His practice considers perceptions and perspectives of sound and space, utilizing many hybrid forms of presentation including composition, performance and installation. He holds a Bachelor of Music Performance from the University of Melbourne, an MFA in Interdisciplinary Art, Media and Design from OCAD University, and is currently a PhD student in the Department of Communication Studies at Concordia University.

Jose Luis Benavides

Jose Luis Benavides (b. 1986 Chicago, US) is a queer Latinx artist, filmmaker and educator. He recently held his first solo show at Terremoto - La Postal, Mexico City, MX (2018). His work was recently featured in Reeling: The Chicago LGBTQ+ International Film Festival, Chicago, US (2020), Full Spectrum Feature’s - Chicago Cinema Exchange: Mexico City (2020), Onion City: Experimental Film and Video Festival, Chicago, US (2020), MSU Latinx Film Festival, Lansing, US (2020), and Revolutions Per Minute Festival, University of Massachusetts Boston, US (2020). His work has also screened at festivals including , CinHomo - Muestra Internacional de Cine y Diversidad Sexual LGBTI, Valladolid, ES (2019), Cadence Video Poetry Festival, Seattle, US (2019), and HOMOGRAFÍA, Halles Saint-Géry, Brussels, BE (2019).

  • IG: https://www.instagram.com/lu3ge
  • Twitter: https://twitter.com/liege
  • Artist website: https://joseluisbenavides.com

Rachel Green

From the walled door of Mr. Grandet's office in Eugenie Grandet to the open door of the Vauquer boarding house in Father Goriot, the domestic door in the panoramic fresco of The Human Comedy offers us a rich optics of transdisciplinary analysis — namely literature, spatiality, figurative architecture and narratology. In line with her master's thesis in French literature centered on this "technème", a Hamonian notion, in the Balzacian work, Rachel Green is currently examining the door as an independent researcher in her narratological role, a key mechanism strategically placed in the work to pace narratives and construct pivotal scenes. Will not be recorded.

Moderators

Analays Alvarez Hernandez

Analays Alvarez Hernandez is historian of art, commissioner for independent expositions and assistant professor in the history of art and cinematographic studies department of the University of Montreal. Alvarez Hernandez has interests for actual artistic practices, mainly for the ones that take place in the public space, that she studies in the light of postcolonial studies, colonials and diasporic, and the phenomenon of globalization. With the support of the research council in human sciences, her principal research projects are on the “domestic galeries” in (post)-socialist societies, and on artists from the latino-american diaspora in Canada.

Agathe François

Agathe François, PhD in communication department at the University of Montreal, her research-creation is about the post-humans imaginaries. Agathe François has interest particularly for the process at work in the imaginary of the futures. She writes short science-fiction and she actually works on their graphic novel adaptation - what her these will be about. Across the writing and drawing practice, she attempts to demonstrate in what the imaginaries are a form of knowledge. 

André Habib

André Habib is associate professor in the history of art and cinema department. He had written or co-directed books one the ruins, cinophily, archives, collectors, the action group in epic cinema and Chris Marker. He had co-edited the files of magazines about the retro (Spirale), pornography et experimental cinema (Found Foutage) and the translation (Substance). And besides the fact that he is often messed up, he is interested about the question of archives and experimental cinema, about the technology implications, the materiality and temporality, about nostalgia problems, the melancholy and the obsolescence. He is in charge of an old electronic magazine about cinema, Hors champ, and, more recently, he had started a platform of creation and audiovisual reflections Zoom Out.

Laurent Vernet

Laurent Vernet has a PhD in urban studies of the National scientific research institute. His works adress, in a sociological perspective, production tendencies and the reception of artistic works in public spaces, especially in terms of matters of inclusion and diversity representations. Guest researcher in the history of art and cinematographic studies department at the University of Montreal, he has been also in charge of courses at the University of Quebec at Montreal and associated member of the Centre de recherches interdisciplinaires en études montréalaises at McGill University. He had co-directed the collective work L’illusion postmoderne? that will be published un 2021 in the Varia editions. Between 2009 and 2018, he worked at the Public art office of the city of Montreal. He animated for Savoir média, Art massif (2020) ; a serie of interviews with artists about their realisations in public art. 

Clément Decault

Clément Decault is a PhD student and charged of courses in the communication department at the University of Montreal. His actual research is about urban mobility and stakes associated with politics concerning sustainable mobility at Montreal. His thesis searches to analyse how different social inequalities are (re)configured across the framing practices and arrangement of “active” mobility. More generally, his researches participate to question the political links with space and time produced across the transformation of urban mobility. In his memoir of Master delivered in 2017 about the engagement of rap artists and activists in the social movement Black Lives Matter, Clément worked about the notion of space both as a colonial form that orients the bodies and defines the conditions of their circulation, as a mediatic form  that allows of a political thinking.


Attached files

Participants / Participantes

Katia Andrea Morales Gaitan

Katia Andrea Morales Gaitan est doctorante en études cinématographiques à l’Université de Montréal. Elle est aussi assistante à la coordination du Programme de recherche sur l’archéologie et la généalogie du montage/editing (PRAGM/e) pour le  Laboratoire CinéMédias. Elle a fait un master en Cinéma Documentaire à l’Université Nationale Autonome du Mexique, institution qui lui a octroyée la médaille Alfonso Caso. Elle a aussi été coordinatrice du livre « L’état des publics du cinéma mexicain du circuit culturel à Mexico. », commissionné par Procine DF. Katia qui a donné des cours au sein des institutions telles que l’UNAM, la Cineteca Nacional, l’Universidad Iberoamericana et l’UAEMex. Elle a aussi contribué à la fondation de la plateforme de VoD FilminLatino et  de l’Institute Mexicain du Cinématographie en tant que coordinatrice de contenue (IMCINE).

Cynthia Montier & Ophélie Naessens

Cynthia Montier & Ophélie Naessens sont un duo d'artistes-chercheurs. Leur travail explore la notion d'ésotérico-géographie, l'appréhension de la géographie et de la géologie urbaine ou rurale comme des espaces à double dimension : à la fois physique et ésotérique, révélant un sens profond ; la représentation symbolique d'une expérience spirituelle, mystique ou émotionnelle. Elles imaginent et expérimentent des formes participatives naviguant entre l'art, l'activisme et la magie. Ensemble, elles s'intéressent aux dispositifs de médiation et de transmission des connaissances et des pratiques - les pédagogies rituelles - ainsi qu'à la place de la spiritualité dans les pratiques artistiques, vernaculaires et militantes.

Aurelie Bezacier

Après avoir étudié le design imprimé et web en France et en Afrique du Sud, Aurélie a débuté son baccalauréat en histoire de l’art à l’Université de Montréal en 2018. Des expériences professionnelles comme designer graphique ont attiré son attention sur les responsabilités sociales des producteur.trice.s d’images. Ses voyages au Cap ont renforcé son intérêt pour les cultures visuelles de l’Afrique australe. Durant son baccalauréat, elle ai exploré des théories interrogeant les questions de pouvoir, d’altérité, d’inclusion ainsi que des relations inter-espèces. En 2019, elle a eu le plaisir de présenter son travail à la Concordia University Undergraduate Art History Conference.

Clara Bich

Après des études en théâtre, en histoire de l’art et en cinéma, Clara quitte la France en 2015 pour suivre une maîtrise en cinéma et séries télévisées à l’Université de Montréal. En 2018, après l’obtention de son diplôme, elle devient journaliste pour la plateforme atuvu.ca. En 2019 elle s’initie aux relations de presse en travaillant pour Mingotwo Communications. Puis, en 2020, elle intègre le Théâtre Aux Écuries en devenant responsable des communications. Elle continue de travailler en parallèle pour le Labo Télé de Marta Boni et elle collabore avec la chaîne de radio CISM.893 pour des chroniques ciné-télé.

Jesse Aidyn

Jesse Aidyn est étudiant à la maîtrise en études du jeu vidéo à l’Université de Montréal. Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en informatique et d’un D.E.S.S. en design de jeux, il aborde une partie significative de ses recherches à travers la recherche-création. Celles-ci se concentrent particulièrement autour des jeux vidéo expérimentaux et des approches de design vidéoludique non traditionnelles. Ses publications incluent l’expérience interactive Liberti (2019) ainsi que l’album musical Hoverboy (2018), lequel demeure central à son projet créatif de maîtrise : un album musical interactif du même nom.

Annabelle Fouquet

Initialement formée en photographie et en anthropologie, Annabelle Fouquet effectue actuellement une maîtrise sur mesure en arts et anthropologie à l’université Laval. Ancrée dans le champ de l’anthropologie visuelle, sensorielle et imaginative, elle travaille à la création d’œuvres anthropologiques qui articulent étroitement expériences sensorielles et réflexives. À travers ses projets de recherche et de création, elle s’intéresse aux dynamiques relationnelles collectives en situation (post)coloniale ainsi qu’aux rapports au territoire.

Maxime Boutin

Maxime Boutin est un artiste français en arts visuels, vivant et travaillant à Montréal. Doctorant en études et pratiques des arts à l’UQÀM, il est membre d’Hexagram, un réseau international dédié à la recherche-création en arts médiatiques, technologie et culture numérique. Son travail de recherche questionne la relation entre les arts visuels et le skateboard, dans une démarche expérientielle visant à transposer la sensorialité de cette pratique urbaine dans une œuvre multimédia, par l’utilisation de caméras d’action. Son projet s’est vu octroyer une bourse de création du réseau Hexagram en 2019, ainsi qu’une bourse de recherche du FRQSC en 2020.

Rosane Lebreton

Rosane Lebreton est architecte et doctorante en architecture. Elle a orienté sa recherche autour de l’image vidéoludique dans le cadre d’une formation post-master DPEA Recherches à l’ENSAPLV, avant de poursuivre ces réflexions dans une thèse en architecture à Lille, au sein du laboratoire LACTH de l’ENSAP-Lille, et Liège, au Liège Game Lab, lié à l’Université de Liège. Cette thèse se veut réfléchir sur les liens entre architecture et jeu vidéo à travers la question de l’expérience architecturale et ses transformations par le medium vidéoludique. 

Elsa Fortant

Cette recherche est menée par Michel Duchesneau, professeur titulaire à la Faculté de musique de l’Université de Montréal et Irina Kirchberg, sociomusicologue, professeure invitée à l’UdeM et coresponsable du DESS en médiation de la musique. Ils sont accompagnés par Héloïse Rouleau, candidate au doctorat en musicologie, Pierre-Luc Moreau et Elsa Fortant, candidats à la maitrise en musicologie ; qui ont tous trois participé à la constitution d’un catalogue raisonné des dispositifs numériques de médiation de la musique entamée en 2018. Émilie Lesage, étudiante au premier cycle en musicologie complète l’équipe.

Fanny B. Charbonneau

Fanny est candidate à la maîtrise en littérature à l’Université de l’UQAM et adjointe artistique d’un organisme de développement de la dramaturgie contemporaine : Jamais Lu. Sa pratique vogue entre les disciplines théâtrale et littéraire. Ses champs de recherche-création s’articulent autour de l’hybridité entre l’humain et la machine. Dans le cadre de performances interdisciplinaires, elle se plaît à faire dialoguer le caractère logico-cartésien des technologies environnantes au chaos poétique du monde et du langage.

Matilde Legault

Matilde Legault a complété une maîtrise en musicologie au printemps 2020 à l’Université de Montréal sous la direction de Marie-Hélène Benoit-Otis. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur la réappropriation de la musique en contexte de propagande. Son mémoire, “L’instrumentalisation des opéras de Giacomo Puccini par le régime fasciste italien (1922-1943) : le cas de Turandot”,traite de la manipulation de la figure de Puccini et l’instrumentalisation de ses opéras dans la propagande fasciste de Mussolini. Elle poursuit maintenant ses études doctorales en musicologie qui portent sur la réappropriation de la musique sous l’Estado Novo d’António de Oliveira Salazar au Portugal. 

Estelle Grandbois-Bernard

Estelle Grandbois-Bernard est étudiante au doctorat en sociologie à l’UQAM. Sa thèse porte sur les enjeux sociaux, mémoriels et spatiaux de la photographie de ruines actuelle. Elle est membre étudiante et coordonnatrice scientifique du Centre de recherche Cultures – Arts – Sociétés (CELAT) à l’UQAM.

Caroline Hatfield

La pratique créative de Caroline Hatfield utilise la sculpture, l’installation, la photographie et l’écriture pour explorer les thèmes du paysage et de la science-fiction. Après avoir terminé un BFA sculpture à l’Université du Tennessee, elle a obtenu une maîtrise en art interdisciplinaire studio de l’Université Towson. Hatfield a été inclus dans de nombreuses publications et a exposé des œuvres d’art à l’échelle nationale. Hatfield a reçu le Prix Trawick d’art contemporain ainsi qu’une bourse d’art du Sud. Elle vit dans l’est du Tennessee, où elle travaille professionnellement comme menuisier et éducatrice.

Reilly Shwab

Reilly Shwab est un historien de l’art et conservateur avec des spécialisations dans la culture visuelle des débuts de l’Europe moderne, en particulier les pays bas, et des estampes. Reilly a obtenu son doctorat de l’Université du Kansas avec une thèse sur la nuit dans l’art néerlandais et différentes façons dont les compréhensions contemporaines de la pratique artistique néerlandaise informée de la nuit. Il a ensuite été professeur adjoint invité d’histoire de l’art et de la critique à l’Université du Montana. L’autre recherche publiée par Reilly étudie les relations entre l’art néerlandais et les identités américaines au tournant du XXe siècle, et entre la culture visuelle et la science. 

Alexandre Zaezjev

Alexandre Zaezjev est doctorant à l’Université de Genève, en Suisse. Sa thèse de doctorat se concentre sur les médias numériques dans la condition culturelle postmoderne. Plus précisément, ses recherches examinent le débat entre le modernisme et le postmodernisme en examinant l’arrivée du Web 2.0 et l’effet décentralisant qu’il a eu sur les stratégies communicatives et artistiques. Alliant recherche académique et pratique créative, Alexandre est aussi un artiste multimédia indépendant.

Rachel Lobo

Rachel Lobo est doctorante à la Faculté des changements environnementaux et urbains de l’Université York, avec l’appui du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada. Ses recherches explorent le potentiel des archives photographiques dans le maintien de l’histoire de la lutte politique et la promotion de l’échange de connaissances intergénérationnelles. Rachel a obtenu sa maîtrise en conservation photographique et gestion des collections de l’Université Ryerson et a effectué des stages d’archives au Musée royal de l’Ontario et au Ryerson Image Centre. Elle a publié ses travaux dans Archivaria: The Journal for the Association of Canadian Archivistes et The International Journal of Canadian Studies

Julian Scordato

Julian Scordato est un compositeur de musique expérimentale et d’artiste qui travaille principalement avec le son numérique et les graphiques. Il a étudié la composition et la musique électronique au Conservatoire de Venise et l’art sonore à l’Université de Barcelone. Assistant de recherche en conception de communication au SaMPL Lab – Conservatoire de Padoue, Scordato a écrit des articles et présenté des résultats liés à des systèmes interactifs pour la performance musicale et la notation graphique dans les conférences et les classes de maître. Il a travaillé comme professeur de musique électronique dans plusieurs institutions italiennes. Ses œuvres électroacoustiques et audiovisuelles primées ont été jouées et exposées dans des festivals internationaux et des institutions prestigieuses.

Lexington Davis

Lexington Davis a récemment terminé sa maîtrise à l’Université VU d’Amsterdam, où son travail a été soutenu par une bourse Fulbright. Actuellement basé à Athènes, en Grèce, elle est également conservatrice et a occupé des postes au Musée finlandais de la photographie à Helsinki, le Musée Stedelijk à Amsterdam et le Musée d’art du comté de Los Angeles. Elle présente régulièrement des conférences en Amérique du Nord et en Europe, et son écriture a paru dans de nombreuses publications, y compris Flash Art et Metropolis M.

Iraboty Kazi

Iraboty Kazi est doctorante Bangladesh- canadienne à l’Université Western Ontario. Elle étudie l’histoire de l’art et ses recherches explorent comment les espaces présentés dans les peintures pastorales italiennes du début de la modernité sont reconfigurés et mobilisés dans les constructions de la nature dans le cinéma queer. Ses intérêts de recherche incluent Dante, la théorie postcoloniale, la littérature, le film queer, les représentations de hijras, l’art et la littérature modernes précoces, et les espaces fictifs.

Jasmin Kathöfer

Jasmin Kathöfer (M.A.), depuis 2020, est assistant du directeur de l’Institut et de la Coordination et de l’Institut d’études des médias à l’Université d’art de Braunschweig, 2016 à 2019, il était doctorant dans le programme d’études supérieures « The photographic Dispositive » à l’Université d’Art de Braunschweig. 2016-2018, il était chercheur dans la « Société de projet après l’argent » à l’Université de Bonn. Jasmin a un diplôme en science des médias à l’Université de Siegen. Il a aussi fait des publications récentes en anglais avec le groupe de projet 'Society after Money' et le livre avec le même titre. Il a fait un dialogue dans les publications Bloomsbury, « When loud Weather buffeted Naoshima ”, “A Sensory Walk », dans Walking, et Academic Quarter Vol. 18/2019.

Angus Tarnawsky

Angus Tarnawsky est un artiste/musicien et chercheur australien dans le domaine des études sonores. Sa pratique tient compte des perceptions et des perspectives du son et de l’espace, en utilisant de nombreuses formes hybrides de présentation, y compris la composition, la performance et l’installation. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en interprétation musicale de l’Université de Melbourne, d’une maîtrise en art interdisciplinaire, médias et design de l’Université OCAD, et est actuellement doctorant au Département d’études en communication de l’Université Concordia.

Jose Luis Benavides

Luis Benavides (né en 1986 à Chicago, États-Unis) est un artiste, cinéaste et éducateur latino-américain. Il a récemment tenu son premier spectacle solo à Terremoto - La Postal, Mexico, MX (2018). Son travail a récemment été présenté dans Reeling: The Chicago LGBTQMD International Film Festival, Chicago, États-Unis (2020), Full Spectrum Feature’s - Chicago Cinema Exchange: Mexico City (2020), Onion City: Experimental Film and Video Festival, Chicago, États-Unis (2020), MSU Latinx Film Festival, Lansing, États-Unis (2020), et Revolutions Per Minute Festival, University of Massachusetts Boston, US (2020). Son travail a également été projeté dans des festivals tels que , CinHomo - Muestra Internacional de Cine y Diversidad Sexual LGBTI, Valladolid, ES (2019), Cadence Video Poetry Festival, Seattle, US (2019), et HOMOGRAFÍA, Halles Saint-Géry, Bruxelles, BE ((2019).

  • IG: https://www.instagram.com/lu3ge
  • Twitter: https://twitter.com/liege
  • Artist website: https://joseluisbenavides.com

Rachel Green

De la porte murée du cabinet de M. Grandet dans Eugénie Grandet à la porte ouverte de la pension Vauquer dans Le Père Goriot, la porte domestique dans la fresque panoramique de The Human Comedy nous offre une riche optique d’analyse transdisciplinaire — à savoir la littérature, la spatialité, l’architecture figurée et la narratologie. S’inscrivant dans la lignée de sa thèse de maîtrise ès arts en littérature française centrée sur ce « technème », notion hamonienne, dans l’œuvre balzacienne, Rachel Green examine actuellement en tant que chercheuse indépendante la porte dans son rôle narratologique, mécanisme clé stratégiquement placé dans l’œuvre pour rythmer les récits et construire les scènes charnières. Ne sera pas enregistré

Modérateurs / Modératrices

Analays Alvarez Hernandez

Analays Alvarez Hernandez est historienne de l’art, commissaire d’exposition indépendante et est professeure adjointe au département d’histoire de l’art et d’études cinématographiques de l’Université de Montréal. Alvarez Hernandez s’intéresse aux pratiques artistiques actuelles, principalement à celles qui se déroulent dans l’espace public, qu’elle étudie à la lumière des études postcoloniales, dé coloniales et diasporiques, ainsi que du phénomène de la mondialisation. Avec le soutien du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines, ses principaux projets de recherche portent sur les « galeries domestiques » dans des sociétés (post)-socialistes, ainsi que sur les artistes de la diaspora latino-américaine au Canada.

Agathe François

Agathe François, doctorante en Communication à l'Université de Montréal, sa recherche-création porte sur les imaginaires post-humains. Agathe François s'intéresse particulièrement aux processus à l'œuvre dans l'imagination des futurs. Elle écrit de courtes sciences-fictions et travaille actuellement à leur adaptation en roman graphique – ce qui constituera sa thèse. À travers la pratique de l'écriture et du dessin, elle entend montrer en quoi les imaginaires sont des formes de connaissance.

André Habib

André Habib est professeur agrégé au département d’histoire de l’art et cinéma. Il a écrit ou co-dirigé des livres sur les ruines, la cinéphilie, les archives, les collectionneurs, le groupe d’action en cinéma épopée et Chris Marker. Il a co-édité des dossiers de revues sur le rétro (Spirale), la pornographie et le cinéma expérimental (Found Footage) et la traduction (Substance). Et outre le fait qu’il soit souvent mêlé, il s’intéresse à la question des archives et du cinéma expérimental, à des enjeux de technologie, de matérialité et de temporalité, aux problèmes de la nostalgie, de la mélancolie et de l’obsolescence. Il s’occupe d’une vieille revue électronique sur le cinéma, Hors champ et, plus récemment, a lancé la plateforme de création et de réflexions audiovisuelles Zoom Out.

Laurent Vernet

Laurent Vernet est titulaire d’un doctorat en études urbaines de l’Institut national de la recherche scientifique. Ses travaux abordent, dans une perspective sociologique, les modes de production et de réception des œuvres d’art dans les espaces publics, notamment en fonction d’enjeux liés à l’inclusion et à la représentation des diversités. Chercheur invité au Département d’histoire de l’art et d’études cinématographiques de l’Université de Montréal, il est également chargé de cours à l’Université du Québec à Montréal et membre associé du Centre de recherches interdisciplinaires en études montréalaises de l’Université McGill. Il a codirigé l’ouvrage collectif L’illusion postmoderne? qui sera publié en 2021 aux éditions Varia. De 2009 à 2018, il a travaillé au Bureau d’art public de la Ville de Montréal. Il a animé, pour Savoir média, Art massif (2020); une série d’entretiens avec des artistes sur leurs réalisations en art public.

Clément Decault

Clément Decault est doctorant et chargé de cours au département de communication de l’Université de Montréal. Ses recherches actuelles portent sur la mobilité urbaine et les enjeux liés aux politiques de la mobilité durable à Montréal. Sa thèse vise à analyser comment différentes inégalités sociales sont (re)configurées à travers des pratiques d’encadrement et d’aménagement de la mobilité dite « active ». Plus généralement, ses recherches participent à interroger les rapports politiques à l’espace et au temps produits à travers la transformation de la mobilité urbaine. Dans son mémoire de maîtrise déposé en 2017 et portant sur l'engagement d'artistes et activistes rap dans le mouvement social Black Lives Matter, Clément a travaillé la notion d'espace tant sous une forme coloniale qui oriente les corps et définit les conditions de leur circulation, que sous une forme médiatique qui permet l'articulation d'une pensée politique.


Fichiers attachés